Tiny Tim

I usually sing I Had a Little Turtle without an instrument so I can demonstrate the hand gestures, but I’ve played the ukulele version for my toddler and his buddies and they loved it that way too. I found the chords at this site.

The tune belongs to an old playground/skipping song so there are numerous variants, some less storytime-appropriate than others.  I’ve included a fairly common version of The Lady With the Alligator Purse.   Thanks to my colleague Erie who introduced me to The Lady via Nadine Bernard Westcott’s excellent book.


I Had a Little Turtle
   C                        F

I had a little turtle, his name was Tiny Tim,
   G7                                       C

I put him in the bathtub to see if he could swim.
                               F

He drank up all the water, he ate up all the soap,
             G7                                           C

And when he woke up in the morning he had bubbles in his throat.
                           F

Oh, bubble bubble bubble, bubble bubble bubble,
  G7                                 C

Bubble bubble bubble, bubble bubble bubble.
(Stop)         (Clap)

And...           POP!



The Lady With the Alligator Purse
      C                    F

Miss Lucy had a baby, his name was Tiny Tim,
    G7                                         C

She put him in the bathtub to see if he could swim
                              F

He drank up all the water, he ate up all the soap
    G7                                                   C

He tried to eat the bathtub but it wouldn't go down his throat
                                   F

Miss Lucy called the doctor, Miss Lucy called the nurse,
     G7                                       C

Miss Lucy called the lady with the alligator purse.
                     F

In came the doctor, in came the nurse,
G7                                   C

In came the lady with the alligator purse.
                        F

Mumps said the doctor, measles said the nurse,
G7                                         C

Nothing! said the lady with the alligator purse.
                      F

Out went the doctor, out went the nurse,
G7                                    C

Out went the lady with the alligator purse.

Leave a comment