This Old Man (and variations)

The first verse of This Old Man in included in the Alternate ABCs post. Here is the rest of the song, along with a couple variations.

This Little Train would pair with any multicoloured train felt you might have on hand. Just choose the verses to match your own cars, and toss any non-rhyming purples or oranges to the side of the tracks.  



This Old Man
F

This old man, he played one
                      C7

He played knick knack on my thumb
        F

With a knick knack paddy whack, give a dog a bone
C7                        F

This old man came rolling home

Verses
...he played two... on my shoe...
...three... on my knee...
...four... on my door...
...five... on my hive...
...six... on my sticks...
...seven... up in heaven...
...eight... on my gate...
...nine... on my spine...
...ten... once again...



My Silly Hat
F

On my head I wear my hat
              C7

It is such a silly hat
        F

That my head will wiggle waggle to and fro
C7                           F

Where else can my silly hat go?



This Little Train
F

This little train, painted black
                     C7

It comes chugging down the track
          F

With a choo-choo, clicky-clack, hear the whistle blow
C7                              F

This little train goes rolling home

Verses
Blue... it has seats for me and you...
Green... it's the fanciest car you've seen...
Grey... takes us places far away...
Pink... it sells snacks to eat and drink...
White... carries us through day and night...
Yellow... shimmies and shakes like a bowl of jello...
This caboose, painted red, it will take you home to bed...



Other Variations Include
Boats Sail On
Way Up High in a Tree

One thought on “This Old Man (and variations)

Leave a comment