Take It Easy

Caspar Babypants’ Take It Easy is so soothingly satisfying, I’ll play it at home even when my child isn’t around. I enjoy the instrumental imagery of the original, but for storytime I wanted something that could involve the audience more, so I’ve swapped the actions for movements that toddlers can perform.

And as usual, I’ve significantly simplified the chords. Head on over to Caspar Babypants’ site to read the full lyrics and chords or to this site to hear a sample of the song. Make sure that your library holds a copy of the source album, Night Night! to put in your patron’s hands after you’ve sung it together. Also playable (and closer to the original) in G/D/Em.


Take It Easy
       C

Gonna clap my hands in the forest
                     G7

Clap my hands in the wood
       C  

Gonna clap my hands in the forest
                 G7        C

So the deer can feel real good
C

Oh oh, some say it's easy
                    Am

So take it easy for me
       C

Gonna clap my hands in the forest
                 G7        C

So the deer can feel real good

Verses
Gonna shake my shaker in the mountains, shake my shaker on the ground... So the bears make a growly sound
Gonna splash my toes in the water, splash my toes in the sea... So the fishes can dance with me
Gonna sing my song in the city, sing my song in the town... So the babies can all get down

Leave a comment