It Ain’t Gonna Rain No More

I never paid much attention to this novelty/camp song until I discovered Karen Beaumont’s hilarious singalong picturebook I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More, which riffs on the tune. I love reading it as a guessing game for kindergartners or older preschoolers, asking them to listen for the rhymes and yell out which body part the child in the story will paint next. Recently I adapted it into a felt story, so I can extend and build on the telling throughout a storytime series.

There’s also a fun mash-up that combines the original tune with Shel Silverstein’s song I’m Being Swallowed By a Boa Constrictor. I like to sing this with scarves so the kids can mime the water rising, but I might bring out the ukulele as well next time.


It Ain’t Gonna Rain No More
C

It ain’t gonna rain no more, no more
G7
It ain’t gonna rain no more

How the heck can I wash my neck
C
If it ain’t gonna rain no more



It Ain’t Gonna Rain No More (Oh No!)
C

It ain't gonna rain no more, no more
G7
It ain't gonna rain no more

Oh no, it's up to my toe
C
But it ain't gonna rain no more

Verses
Oh gee, it's up to my knee...
Oh my, it's up to my thigh...
Oh fiddle, it's up to my middle...
Oh heck, it's up to my neck...
Oh dread, it's up to my head... Guess I'd better swim home



I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More
C

I ain’t gonna paint no more, no more
G7
I ain’t gonna paint no more

That's what I say but there ain't no way
C
That I ain’t gonna paint no more

C

So I take some red and I paint my head
G7
Now I ain't gonna paint no more

Oh what the heck, gonna paint my neck
C
Now I ain't gonna paint no more...

etc

Felt Story Extension
In the spirit of the story, I aimed for some wild colourfully painted body parts. I adapted the character from paper doll patterns and cut everything else to fit this shape.

This week’s Flannel Friday roundup is hosted by Mel’s Desk. If any other felters adapt this story, I’d love to see your version.

2 thoughts on “It Ain’t Gonna Rain No More

Leave a comment