Buffalo Gals (and variations)

This tune sounds an awful lot like our last song, Rig a Jig Jig, since the basic chord sequence is identical. Popular versions of the songs even begin with the same introductory lines.

I love songs that get kids up and moving, so I posted this tune entirely for I Wake Up My Hands. My friend Francesca uses it to engage and settle her group at the beginning of a program, and she concludes each verse with the line, “then I wake up my hands no more.” I sing it a little differently, encouraging one last clap, stomp, or wiggle, while Jbrary offers a third option, ending their verses with “and I wiggle my waggles away.”

If your audience is cozy enough that you can welcome each participant by name, you might want to opening a storytime with Let’s All Clap which I picked up from Lindsey at Jbrary.

Alternate chords include G and D7, F and C7, or A and E7.


Buffalo Gals
C

Buffalo gals won't you come out tonight
G7                C

Come out tonight, come out tonight

Buffalo gals won't you come out tonight
G7                            C

And dance by the light of the moon



I Wake Up My Hands
C

I wake up my hands with a clap clap clap
G7               C

Clap clap clap, clap clap clap

I wake up my hands with a clap clap clap
G7                           C

Then I wake up my hands some more

Verses
Feet... stomp...
Head... nod...
Eyes... blink...
Tongue... bleah...
Hips... wiggle...



Let’s All Clap
C

Let's all clap 'cause Sophie is here
G7                C

Sophie is here, Sophie is here

Let's all clap 'cause Sophie is here
G7                C

Sophie is here today



Other Variations Include
Wiggle Box

Leave a Reply

