Yo Te Amo

I learned this gentle lullaby from a beloved mentor/instructor back when I was in library school. I love asking my storytime group how they say “I Love You” in their myriad home languages and then singing them all together. It’s a wonderful way to get to know each other, and glimpse the diversity in our communities. And of course, it offers a moment to reinforce what a gift it is to speak and sing to a child in their home language.

I used to write our group’s “I Love Yous” on a flipchart or white board, but I’ve just made some reversible felt hearts to put up while we sing. I’ve made a few extra blanks so I can keep up with new languages and phrases that the families volunteer.

This song doesn’t seem to be too well known but one of my colleagues recorded it at a rhyme-sharing workshop, and you can listen to it here.

Update: You can now see my friends at Jbrary singing this as well. Thanks Dana & Lindsey! Also, I’ve learned the song origin, and can finally credit Uncle Ruthie Buell. It’s from her album Take a Little Step.


Yo Te Amo
C
Yo te amo, yo te amo
G7                        C

All day long I sing this little song to you
C

Yo te amo, yo te amo
G7             C

Darling I love you


Verses
Wo ai ni... (Mandarin Chinese)
Je t’aime... (French)
Mahal kita... (Tagalog)
Ich liebe dich... (German)
Sarang hae... (Korean)
Daisuki... (Japanese)

Yo Te Amo Yo Te Amo

We’re participating in Flannel Friday again, so check out this week’s roundup at What Is Bridget Reading?

Ukulele Love Songs
This is the fifth in a series of love-the-littles songs.

5 thoughts on “Yo Te Amo

  1. Pingback: Kindness Story Time - Everybody - Verona Story Time

  2. Pingback: Kindness Story Time - Preschool - Verona Story Time

  3. Pingback: World Story time - Everybody - Verona Story Time

  4. Pingback: World Story time - Preschool - Verona Story Time

Leave a Reply

