Peace Like A River

I don’t know where I learned Peace Like a River, but it may have been from Elizabeth Mitchell’s You Are My Little Bird. She certainly has a lovely rendition. The song itself is much older, tracing back to an African American spiritual.

For storytime, I’ve replaced the word “soul” with “heart,” and added a couple qualities that feel more active to me. This disrupts the continuity of water metaphors, but I don’t think the kids will mind. If you’d like to try a few ASL signs instead of strumming, you can pick them up from my friends at Jbrary.


Peace Like A River 
          C
I've got peace like a river
          F            C
I've got peace like a river
                                   G7
I've got peace like a river in my heart
          C
I've got peace like a river
          F            C
I've got peace like a river
                       G7          C
I've got peace like a river in my heart


Verses
Love like the ocean...
Joy like a fountain...
Dreams like a forest...
Strength like a mountain...

One thought on “ Peace Like A River

Leave a Reply

