Old MacDonald

I usually sing Old MacDonald with puppets on my hands, feet and head to make the kids laugh, but once in a while I’ll pull out the ukulele instead. Classic storytime songs are fantastic tools for welcoming storytime newbies or drawing distracted little folks back to the circle. For variation, I might change the environment and animals, or connect it with a theme (ie Old MacDonald had a desert, forest, jungle, ocean).

For my fall storytime session, I’m again focusing on repetition-with-variation from week to week, so we’ll sing this song with puppets, felts, and using Steve Goetz’ fun new book Old MacDonald had a Truck.


Old MacDonald
C              F     C            G7      C

Old MacDonald had a farm, E - I - E - I - O
                        F     C           G7      C

And on that farm there was a cow, E - I - E - I - O
C

With a moo moo here, and a moo moo there
C

Here a moo, there a moo, everywhere a moo moo
               F      C           G7      C

Old MacDonald had a farm, E - I - E - I - O



Old Macdonald Little Mouse

Felt Story Extension
I made a few extra barns for my Old MacDonald felt so I can uncover each animal like we’re playing Little Mouse. Next I’ll make a few non-farm animals to incorporate more surprise, variation, and vocabulary.

For patterns, I adapted this barn quiet book template, and this farm animal colouring sheet. Thanks to Kate at Felt Board Magic for hosting this week’s Flannel Friday.

One thought on “Old MacDonald

  1. Pingback: Flannel Friday Roundup for September 9, 2016 – Felt Board Magic

Leave a comment