Wake Up

After a winter of rain clouds in my lovely gray city, I’m happy to wake up to the extra light of a spring morning. Even if I need to get up an hour earlier. This Woody Guthrie song is for all of us in daylight savings zones who may be yawning a little more this week.

For the full lyrics, head over to the official Guthrie site. And to hear it, check out the albums Nursery Days or 20 Grow Big Songs, or listen to a clip via Smithsonian Folkways.


Wake Up
C
Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up
                                G7
Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up
     C                          F

Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up
     C        G7                C

Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up

C
Open eyes, open eyes, open eyes, open eyes
                                      G7
Open eyes, open eyes, open eyes, open eyes
     C                          F

Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up
     C           G7                    C

Open eyes, open eyes, open eyes, open eyes


Verses
Stretch arms...
Stretch feet...
Stretch hands and toes...

3 thoughts on “Wake Up

    • Any particular favourites? I’m a big fan of his children’s songs, but have only tried 3 or 4 in storytime so far (Pick it Up, Riding in My Car, Put Your Finger in the Air…) I love to hear what songs have worked well for others.

      Like

      • I’ve done Riding in my Car and This Land is Your Land (probably more relevant to use for us in the United States though). I used Wake Up in both my Baby Lapsit storytime and my Under Twos storytime last week and it went really well! I found that this song is kind of deceptively difficult for me to sing- there aren’t a lot of lyrics, but each line is sung is a different way. After playing around with it a bunch I finally got it down, if I have time I’ll try to do a recording. Thanks again April!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

