Bumping Up and Down / Ten Little…

Ten Little… songs are wonderful fingerplays, and Bumping Up and Down is a super fun lap bounce, but you still might want to play it on ukulele once in a while. You can Ten Little just about anything, so this is a perfect song for incorporating elements of repetition with variation into your storytime. Try a new one each week!

I was feeling very spacey this week,  so I’m featuring Jbrary’s Space Shuttle variation alongside my Ten Little Astronauts felt story/colour matching game. If you’d like to make it yourself, here’s the template I adapted mine from.


Bumping Up and Down in My Little Red Wagon
C

Bumping up and down in my little red wagon
G7

Bumping up and down in my little red wagon
C

Bumping up and down in my little red wagon
G7               C

Won’t you be my darling

Verses
Wheel feel off and the axle's broken...
Grandma's gonna fix it with her hammer...

Alternate Verses
Driving around in my little ______________... (any vehicle)



Bumping Up and Down in My Little Space Shuttle
C

Bumping up and down in my little space shuttle
G7

Bumping up and down in my little space shuttle
C

Bumping up and down in my little space shuttle
G7                   C

Won’t you go to the moon with me?

Verses
My space suit's on and my boots are too...
We step on the moon and bounce up and down...

10 Little Astronauts

Ten Little Astronauts
C

One little, two little, three little astronauts
G7
Four little, five little, six little astronauts
C

Seven little, eight little, nine little astronauts
G7                     C          (stop)

Ten little astronauts lifting off


5... 4... 3... 2... 1... Blast Off!


Ten Little Raindrops
C

One little, two little, three little raindrops
G7

Four little, five little, six little raindrops
C

Seven little, eight little, nine little raindrops
G7                    C

Ten little raindrops on my head

Verses
Ten little raindrops on my _______ (other body parts)



Other Variations Include
Bumping Up and Down in My Little Blue Sled
Bumping Up and Down On Mommy’s Knee
Various Ten Littles from KCLS Tell Me a Story

5 thoughts on “Bumping Up and Down / Ten Little…

  1. C
    One little, two little, three little planets
    G7
    Four little, five little, six little planets
    C
    Seven little, eight little, Pluto’s not a planet
    G7 C
    orbiting around the sun

    I use this version I adapted for my space theme program. The parents always laugh at Pluto’s not a planet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Playing Outside Story Time - Everybody - Verona Story Time

  3. Bumping up and down in Santa’s sleigh. Thanks for all your great songs. I started using this one in my storytimes and it has been going over well.

    Dialogue: We get to go out and help Santa. Pretend to bump up and down in Santa’s Sleigh.
    Action: Bump up and Down.

    C
    Bumping up and down in Santa’s sleigh
    G7
    Bumping up and down in Santa’s sleigh
    C
    Bumping up and down in Santa’s sleigh
    G7 C
    HO HO HO HO HO

    Dialogue: Oh no the reindeer ran and way and we have to find them
    Action: hand over eyes looking

    Reindeer ran away and we have to find them
    Reindeer ran away and we have to find them
    Reindeer ran away and we have to find them
    Look Look Look Look Look

    Dialogue: Now we have to help deliver presents to good boys and girls
    Action: Pretend to pick stuff up

    Delivering presents to good boys and girls
    Delivering presents to good boys and girls
    Delivering presents to good boys and girls
    I wonder what they will get

    Dialogue: Santa must be hungry for some cookies!
    Action: eating cookies – hand to mouth

    Santa’s hungry for some cookies
    Santa’s hungry for some cookies
    Santa’s hungry for some cookies
    Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum

    Dialogue: Oh No we have to deliver all the presents in time, we better hurry up. 2nd time we have to hurry quicker!
    Action: Bump up and down

    FASTER x2
    Bumping up and down on Santa’s sleigh
    Bumping up and down on Santa’s sleigh
    Bumping up and down on Santa’s sleigh
    HO HO HO HO HO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

