Down By the Bay

I love the silliness and language-play in this song. The rhymes and imagery are great for all ages, but older preschoolers and school-aged kids can really get into it, throwing out suggestions and inventing verses.

Our local kids often know the Raffi version, so I start with a few of his verses, then go from there. Next time I sing this song I’m planning to bring my felt pieces from “A Hunting We Will Go” to use as visual cues, so the verses below are inspired by those images.


Down by the Bay
C                                        G7

Down by the bay, where the watermelons grow,
                            C
Back to my home, I dare not go,
          F                  C 
For if I do, my mother will say,
(Stop)
"Did you ever see a fox sitting in a box
G7          C

Down by the bay?"

Verses
Did you ever see a bear wearing underwear?
Did you ever see a skunk sleeping in a bunk?
Did you ever see a lamb riding in a pram?
Did you ever see a pig wearing a wig?
Did you ever see a snake pop out of a cake?
Did you ever see a goat sailing on a boat?

Leave a Reply

